10 Books 📚 to Read if You Love ❤️ Jane Austen 📝 ...

Did you fall in love with the work of Jane Austen when studying at school? Or perhaps you came to her later through pleasant accident or surprise? No matter how you arrived at the likes of Pride and Prejudice and Sense and Sensibility, the only problem that you have to meet at some point is the fact that you have read everything in her catalog and have nothing new to enjoy! Of course, you can always re-read, but it’s nice to experience something new once in a while, right? Here are ten books to read if you love Jane Austen.

1. The Jane Austen Project by Kathleen a. Flynn

This is a wonderful debut novel that involves something Austen’s work never did, time travel! It features an engrossing plot about characters traveling back in time to befriend and steal from Jane Austen herself! Who wouldn’t love to go back in time and meet her themselves?

Buy here: amazon.com

2. Seeking Mansfield by Kate Watson

This is a really interesting modern-day retelling of Austen’s Mansfield Park, a great version which proves that her characters and plotlines are still just as relevant and intriguing 200 years later!

Buy here: amazon.com

3. Belgravia by Julian Fellowes

You’ll know the author’s name from other great period projects like Downton Abbey and Gosford Park, and Austen fans will feel very at home in this style of writing, a story of mismatched lovers with lots of British class dynamics thrown in.

Buy here: amazon.com

4. Devil in Spring by Lisa Kleypas

This is a novel that features a headstrong protagonist just like Elizabeth Bennet, and a love interest not unlike Mr. Darcy! It’s fun to read a story where the characters don’t fall head over heels for each other right off the bat!

Buy here: amazon.com

5. Mr. Rochester by Sarah Shoemaker

If you love Austen, the chances are that you will love the Bronte sisters too, and this novel is a reimagining of the early life of one Edward Rochester from Jane Eyre. It’s a really interesting read that gives you a fresh perspective and fills in some gaps.

Buy here: amazon.com

6. Marry in Haste by Anne Gracie

This is an easy reading period romance that features a bold and spunky heroine just like all of the best Austen works! Unexpected romances are the best kind, and this novel has one as its central theme.

Buy here: amazon.com

7. Searching for Mr. Tilney by Jane Odiwe

This is another book that is part romance, part historical fiction and part time travel; it’s obviously a popular genre! It explores a concept that most Austen fans would love to be part of: to go back in time and be one of her contemporaries.

Buy here: amazon.com

8. A Purely Private Matter by Darcie Wilde

Part of the wonderful Rosalind Throne Mysteries series, this is a book that takes readers back to the glory of Regency London, with an added dose of mystery and romance to boot!

Buy here: amazon.com

9. Jane of Austin by Hillary Manton Lodge

This is a really cool and fun modern retelling of Sense and Sensibility, a book where you can imagine yourself as a 21st-century version of Elinor or Marianne Dashwood!

Buy here: amazon.com

10. The Austen Escape by Katherine Reay

A really engaging book that tells the story of an American woman who decides to retrace her best friend’s steps and take a whimsical pilgrimage to the corners of England that are most associated with Jane Austen.

Buy here: amazon.com

Loading ...