7 Unbelievably Great Books to Read if You Loved the Great Gatsby ...

Many have fallen in love with the glamour and elegance of the era “The Great Gatsby” was set in. Also called the Jazz Age and the Roaring Twenties, this setting makes for wonderful novels. These are some unbelievably great books to read if you loved “The Great Gatsby. The only decision to make is which one to read first.

1. “the Age of Innocence”

(Your reaction) Thank you!

amazon.com

“The Age of Innocence” by Edith Wharton captures the very real social structure and issues in New York during the 1920s. This story isn’t short on drama. It’s the story of a man who’s in love with one woman but feels a social obligation to marry another. To add another layer of complication, the two women are cousins. Your heart will go out to the characters trapped under the heavy layers of society’s rules in the Roaring Twenties.

2. “a Woman of No Importance”

(Your reaction) Thank you!

amazon.com

“A Woman Of No Importance” is set in another place and time but the similarities in the struggles of society expectations make this a good read for fans of “The Great Gatsby.” It details the story of a woman who is pregnant as a result of an affair. In addition to the struggles of society, it also exposes the differences in how things were viewed based upon gender. It’s an interesting read that can give you food for thought. It’s a short read written by Oscar Wilde

3. “Lilies in the Moonlight”

(Your reaction) Thank you!

amazon.com

This work of fiction is by Allison K. Pitman. It’s a story with an inspirational spin. Join Lilly and Cullen as they try to find love in the midst of this unique period in history. They’re from different social backgrounds which only add complications to their attempt to find love. This book has all the charm of the Roaring Twenties that you’re hungry for.

4. “Bright Young Things”

(Your reaction) Thank you!

amazon.com

This novel by Anna Godberson is set in New York City in 1929. Three girls are on three very different personal journeys which lead them through unique yet connected experiences. Letty dreams of being a star but is finding out it may not be what she’d dreamed. Cordelia only wants to meet the father she’s never known. And Astrid is hiding family secrets no one could guess.

5. “the Sun Also Rises”

(Your reaction) Thank you!

amazon.com

“The Sun Also Rises” is by the famous and respected Ernest Hemingway. It’s set in the 20s in Europe. Follow the story of Jake Barnes and Lady Brett Ashley. Together they journey through this time period experiencing all the moral issues of this era. It’s a classic for your collection.

6. “This Side of Paradise”

(Your reaction) Thank you!

amazon.com

The last two books that you may love if you were a fan of “The Great Gatsby” are also by F. Scott Fitzgerald. After all, if you loved “The Great Gatsby” then it stands to reason that you may love some of his other works as well. “This Side Of Paradise” is actually Fitzgerald’s first novel and is set in the years following The Great War. Go along with Amory Blaine as he struggles to grow up amidst this confusing time period.

7. “Tender is the Night”

(Your reaction) Thank you!

amazon.com

Fitzgerald details the inner conflicts of a man and his marriage in “Tender Is The Night.” Set in the 20s on the French Riviera, it’s the story of a psychiatrist who marries a woman named Nicole who’s also his patient. His marriage to Nicole is fraught with conflicts and her wealth only expands the issues. The tragedy of Dick’s shambling life will keep you riveted to the pages of this classic tale.

These are 7 great books for you to check into if you loved “The Great Gatsby.” Which do you plan to read? I’d love to hear from you.

Please rate this article
(click a star to vote)